Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey all, i'm kind of new to the whole RC thing so i hope someone will answer my dumb newbie question here.

i'm trying to get an ES-01 speed controller to work with my radio receiver. the problem is that the ES-01 will start driving the motor full tilt as soon as i plug its battery lead in. don't have to even connect it to the receiver. shows lots of initiative but somehow i just don't appreciate it as much as maybe i should.

do i have a bum speed controller or am i doing something really stupid? going to go open up the es-01 now to check if something's obviously wrong on the inside. thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,016 Posts
If it is new equipment, opening the case will void any warranty.
Sounds like something is either setup wrong or your ESC is not happy
and might have a problem.
Unless you have a degree or experience with small integrated circuits there is probably little you would benefit by opening the ESC case.

Download and read the manual or read the manual that came with the ES01 ESC (Electronic Speed Control) to see if it can help.

You should connect the ESC to the receiver before you connect power to the unit.
The ESC should have an on-off switch that then controls system power if it works like most other car ESCs.
It is possible that the ESC could be damaged by applying power without having the receiver connection connected...don't know for certain.

RAFster

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i got this thing used. a local hobby store sells them cheap after pulling apart old RC cars. i tried looking for a data sheet or manual online but no dice. anyone know where i can get it?

it does have an on-off switch but it does nothing.

·
Lifetime Member
1,091 Posts
goatmonkey: I don't recommend using ans ES-o1 in a 1/18 scale car. Most 1/18 stock motors are too much for it. Might be just the ticket for miniZs though.