Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
which charger would you get? The duratrax charger or the MRC Super Brain 959? I was thinking the Superbrain, but i dont know how well they work, etc. What would be your choice?

·
Registered
2,084 Posts
intelli vs. brain

I have the intellipeak below that one (no separate power supply) AND the Brain. Both work quite well but I very much like having the digital readout on the brain. It will tell you the voltages as it charges and the total charge time. This is real helpful in insuring thatyou aren't false peaking. On the flip side, the Brain only charges between 3-4.5A whereas the Intelli goes .5-6A. If you want to charge AA's for a micro, the Brain wont go down low enough. If you want to charge NiMH at the "proper" current levels for racing (so say some people- I have NO experience here), which would be 6A, then, again, the Brain loses out.

Hope that helps.

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
so you are mostly leaning at the Intellipeak, from what i get. I have plenty of time in between heats/races to charge the batteries, so time really isnt a matter. Also, does it really matter that NiMH batteries are charged with under 6V?

Anyone else have any opinions on this?

·
Premium Member
3,140 Posts
One local racer got some new 3300's... It takes 45 minutes or more to charge them on his "Brain"... So even if the batteries don't care, you better have an hour or so between rounds or you won't get them charged at 4.5 amps...

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
well, i have alot of time between races, but i dont know about 45 minutes or more. That seems like a LONG time! I guess i could handle it if i had more than one of the batteries though.

Anyone else have opinions? Looks like most lean for the Intellipeak.

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
All is quiet in the General forum...:(