Hobbyist Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Lifetime Monster Modeler
4,124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have NEVER lit up a model before but have been reading a bunch on the boards and F/O always seems to add that extra...well..punch...and reaches areas that are too small for LED's.

How does one handle dispersion from LED to F/O cable? Do you wrap it?
Is there a F/O 101 that I can read and how it applies to models?

Thanks,

MMM

·
Lifetime Monster Modeler
4,124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
So I know the concept...you put a fiber in front of a light source and that is what illuminates the fiber optic...I didn't think I asked too tough of a question.

I just wanted to hear what some of the experts do...

Thanks,
MMM

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
Although I'm new to use of fiber optics as well, I've been putting lights in models for years. I started out with the old "grain-of-wheat" bulbs when I was very young, and now I've worked my way up to high powered LED's and fiber optics. It's really NOT that hard to do, but it does require patience and time.

My first use of fiber optics was minimal use in my Robby the Robot build, but it was a good starting point. You basically have to build a "can" or "manifold" for your fiber bundles and your LED's to go into. I have used both plastic tubing and metal, and it's a good idea to keep an assortment on hand for different applications. The upside is, this stuff is relatively cheap, so it's no big deal. This photo is of a real simple one inside Robby. I was pinched for space, so I split some plastic tube down the middle, still having room for my LED and some fibers to go into:

When using plastic, you have to make sure and paint it so all the light doesn't bleed thru! These things are super bright!

LED holder for the head.