Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,776 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Posted this in a couple of other places, but since I first asked for advice on this diorama here at HobbyTalk, I wanted to post it here, too. :)

Posted this over on Steve's board, but I thought I'd post it here too. What would happen if Trek's "Preservers" not only transplanted Native Americans to another planet, but had, millions of years earlier, transplanted some of earth's dinosaurs?

Here's a link to a few pics of my TOS shuttle meets Raptors dioramas.

http://ca.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/bradjeast/album?.dir=/70b4&.src=ph&.tok=ph8ma6BBK8_MtW6I

It's my first attempt at a diorama. The shuttle is pretty much stock, though I did create more Trek-like instruments in Illustrator (can't see them in the pic). The decals are from an old set by Gino Dykstra.

The crewmen were my first attempt at converting military figures. They are from Dragon's 1/35 "Wounded Crewman" set. The velociraptors are from Tamiya's 1/35 raptor set (they seem to be bigger than 1/35, if you ask me). At the front of the diorama, a raptor is chasing off an oviraptor that got too close (the oviraptor is from Tamiya's "Mesozoic Creatures" 1/35 set. In the trees, near the back a curious Hypsilophodon (from the same set as the oviraptor) looks on, apparently ignored for now.

It was a fun little project, and even though it's far from perfect (and not quite done), I'm glad I did it. I'll be sending Cult better pics and a write-up soon.

Comments welcome.

Brad.

·
Registered
7,695 Posts
Another red shirt gone.
That is a realistic diorama. Very good painting. Looking at the raptors scare me.
For your first attempt, I think it is quite effective.

Lloyd :freak:

·
Registered
2,776 Posts
Discussion Starter #3