Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
778 Posts
noddaz said:
Ok, I have a small fuse block as circuit protection on my small home track.
I am having problems with the JL X-Traction ski shoes shorting out and blowing fuses... Ok, so the fuses are doing what they are supposed to do.
Question is can I wire in circuit breakers like these instead of fuses?

http://www.skycraftsurplus.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=1260
if you have a problem with dead shorting, the breakers will also trip as designed, need to stop the shorting first, hope this helps a little, i've been a commercial electrician for last ten years, not quite sure about slot tracks but usually a short will trip breakers and blow fuses

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
I've been a commercial electrician for 30 years.... ;)

Here's the only issue you might have a problem with:

"Trip Time at 200% = 3.0 to 33 Seconds "

In other words...if the load amounts to 10 amps for any reason, such as a motor going bad...or even a short that has enough resistance to simulate a load...the breaker wont trip instantaniously....

But that can also be a good thing if you run cars with higher loads....as you dont want the breaker to trip for a momentary spike in amps on hole shots out of corners...

Higher voltage AC and DC fuses are "duel element" or "time delay" to allow an inductive load time to re-balance (like a motor starting amperage is much higher than the FLA or full load rating of the same motor)...a 30 amp 3ph motor can spike to 85 amps for a second or two upon a start from dead stop...

I would suggest you put a fuse up stream (before the breaker in the circuit) to protect against overloads.....and let the breaker handle dead shorts...

I would purchase one....set it up..and check to make sure it trips instantly upon a dead short...

Also:

Number of Poles = 2 ; 1 pole switched, 1 pole series trip breaker