Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6,355 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
being a teacher, i am fortunate in that i have had a couple weeks off. we've been so busy with holiday stuff that I haven't had much time to go to the dungeon/basement... the last couple days, though, i finally got down there. learned a few cool things diddling with AW Tjets and Racing Rigs...

1. you DON'T want the "window" at the front of the Tjet pickup shoes too low, especially if you run sectional track. i was trying to get the front end of one lower, and the shoe/window was bottoming out on the shoe hanger at the front of the chassis before the front wheels touched the track. so I straightened the window part a little and bent it so the shoe just started to bend up right at the window. the wheels touched the track now, but it took a couple laps to figure out why the car clicked so loud over joints and actually deslotted at a couple of the joints on the straights. Guide pin bottoming out? Noop. Body screw bottoming out? Noop. The bottom of the "window" was catching on rough spots where one section's rail was higher than the previous section. Oops. Toss THAT set of shoes... lesson learned by trial and error.

2. The Dremel attachment to which you attach a cutoff wheel is the perfect diameter to slip on a Tjet/Tuff Ones tire and grind it down/true it on a piece of sandpaper. Works great in conjunction with the trick Claus mentioned a couple weeks ago, where you cut a stock AWTO rear tire down the middle to use on those medium-size AWTO fronts. It's real easy to take too much off and go too low :D Trial and error again.