Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
To my knowledge the GtO did not share the 396 motor from the Chevelle. That being said its not like a model company to screw something like that up Ive seen some T-jets saying they were 66' models but they are clearly a 67 model. Just my opinion

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The 396 numbers are after market decals applied by an owner at some point and time later on. I'm asking about the painted stripe.

·
LED Burner Outer
11,710 Posts
I'm no expert, but to me it looks like fresh paint. Especially up by the windshield, and the slight masking bleed on the trunk. I could be completely wrong, as I too didn't know a striped version was made and never seen one before. I'm simply looking at paint and giving my gut feelings.

·
Model Murdering
7,331 Posts
Odd fellows on the up and up...?

Cant speak much about this model...I dont have it for direct comparison, so I'm just gonna wing it from the pix and have some fun.

If you look at the hood tach you can see a hint of base color around the edge. Little misses and boo boos are pretty typical of Aurora accents and details. The weird ruffles on the rear stripes where it rolls down the trunk break is pretty typical too. You often see this effect at the beginnings or ends of aurora's stripes or near the bottom on hard curves or corner's in the body work. I'd be more suspicious if it were perfect there. Note that the soft stripe edge is continued from front to back on this particular car, and that true to form the stripes start getting vague back on the trunk's vertical edge. Although uncharacteristic for most T-jets the pictured car in the Beers bible has the stripes running across the front cowl right up to the windsheild.