Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm new to the brushless thing, i have a castle sidewinder, i got a new brushless motor given to me but it has the sensor wire, and my esc is sensor less. will it work? the sensor wire is removable from the motor. also what type( guage) of wire should i use to go from my esc to the motor? i was running a castle kit but wana try something alittle softer this weekend.

·
Registered
988 Posts
what size motor?

What difference would that make!?! I mean no disrespect to you but motor size is irrelevant here.

No your Sidewinder wont run sensored motors, sensorless only. I would suggest using the castle link in conjunction with your sidewinder system as you can use that to 'tame' your current set up. Depending on your radio you may be able to make some adjustments there to slow things down also.

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
sorry! but mm will run a sensored motor you just need to adjust the timing!
if it is a 10.5 or lower it should run it. with the higher turns you will have a little
coging.

·
Registered
988 Posts
The older mambas, (mamba max, sidewinder) are designed to be used with either sensorless or brushed motors. I wouldn't recommend running a sensored motor with your ESC. If they were made to run sensored motors I'm sure Castle would list that as a feature and provide information in the manual suggesting settings to use when running a sensored motor

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
well when I got a hold of Joe Ford (works for cc)he e-mailed me were to put the timing
to run the 17.5 ss pro. it coged very little at the start. 13.5 wasn't noticable.
but you can do what ya want I ran mine and didn't hurt it.
you can buy a sensorless 17.5 for 40 bucks. get a hold of 420 tech he runs one.

·
Registered
3,766 Posts