Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a very beginner, I would like to ask for your professional advice in choosing a photo editing & processing software for a beginner with a limited budget.
From your own perspective, what is the one worthy of using? Or should I begin learning Illustrator or Photoshop instead?

·
Administrator
26,606 Posts
I have always just used the photo editor that comes with my device to do the simple tasks of straightening or cropping. If you have good photographs to start with this usually will do almost everything you need.

If you want to create images you might try a free editor until you reach the program limits and need more.

·
Administrator
841 Posts
As a very beginner, I would like to ask for your professional advice in choosing a photo editing & processing software for a beginner with a limited budget.
From your own perspective, what is the one worthy of using? Or should I begin learning Illustrator or Photoshop instead?
Hi @Arlo , well, as someone who uses photo editing software to do all sorts of cool stuff, if you are on a budget, and want something close to Adobe PS ect. I use a program called : GIMP .
Really easy to learn, lots of cool features ect. Been using it for many many years now. Best of all, its FREE.

·
Registered
218 Posts
I don't use any photo editing software other than what's on my Mac. I use the Preview/Tools features to crop and adjust the exposure and color. The important thing is to take good pictures so that you don't have to edit them too much.

·
Super Moderator
736 Posts
Arlo, I'm with K.I.T.T, I have started to use GIMP on occasion and the more you use it, the better you get with it. The only problem is having time to use it. I often only have time to use the basic editor on Flickr now, lol.

·
Administrator
26,606 Posts
Time is the biggest factor for me as well.