Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Lifetime Monster Modeler
4,124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I usually don't come to this forum as I am a figure modeler but I was reading the Aurora Model Kits by Thomas Graham book and wondered of some of the plane and tank kits that Aurora first put out...how many of those are still being re-issued today maybe by Revell or other?

If I was to take a specific genre...lets say WWI planes that Aurora first put out.

Does anyone have the lineage to follow up to today? It would be interesting to see how the box and boxart changed through the years.

I'm sure JP has a whole history on this that he can share...and probably build-ups too!

MMM

·
Registered
8,132 Posts
Not much has ever been done with the World War I kits. Aurora revised most of them in the 1970s for thier last Aurora issue (white boxes with photo box art). When Monogram obtained the molds, they further refined the Sopwith Camel, Fokker D. VII, and S.E. 5a. Those three planes have been tweaked a couple times over the decades and are/were recently reissued by Revell Germany for the umteenth time. None of the other planes have either survived or are not deemed to be worth a reissue. Some of the tooling for the two-seater planes are actually some of the few molds actually damaged in the now epic train wreck story.