Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 644 Posts
R

·
0 Posts
OK now that we got it started, lets forum.
Indoor season is coming soon. What has happened to the tct over the past year.
How are the lite (delrin) drives working?

etc

Rick

K

·
0 Posts
I'm with Pat, AE's lightweight diffs rock. Especially after they run in for a bit; it seems that for me at least after I build them, they need to be readjusted after a run or two, and then again about 10 runs later, but then they're perfect. Mine are at least 3 months old and they're the smoothest they've ever been. Using AE Green Slime on the diff balls and the black thrust grease that comes with the kit.

And I tossed a 10x2 into my car for a bit the other night; didn't notice any problems aside from me learning how to handle insane power. =D

I

·
0 Posts
Rats, I put my reply in the new topic section. You can tell I am new to this. Please view you all.

·
Registered
900 Posts
Delrin diff halves are different than the AE lightweight diffs......BIG difference.

Same with some of the aftermarket aluminum...they slip too.

I

·
0 Posts
what is the big difference between derlin and associated.....by your opinion

·
Registered
1,951 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Inacorner, a derlin drive is a replacement piece for the original outdrives, they were steel and very heavy. Since your new dont worry about it, your cars probably have the lightweight Associated outdrives.

The difference is Associated designed their lightweight outdrives correctly and the derlin and aluminum ones out there are just a quick design that really had no thought other than using a lighter material than steel.

About motors, you do know there are different classes? Unless you are going to race modified dont worry about the motor causing you to loose. Also being new you do not I repeat you DO NOT want to run modified, your car will be in pieces.

·
Registered
4,497 Posts