Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got nearly 1000 Hot Wheels, Johnny Lightning and Matchbox cars. I've been collecting for about 7 years now. I know some are valuable but I'm not exactly sure of what all I have and what it's worth. I've got so many I sometimes forget and buy another one. I've been meaning to compile a database of what I've got but there is something more important that I need.

I want to store an estimated value at a given time from a good source along with a picture and other details. I know EBay can show me some things but that is hit and miss. The problem with it is that there can be one person who really wants something and will pay anything. Once that demand is filled (and usually after I start my auction) prices fall.

Does anyone know of a good source for value? I’ve been to ewheelbase but it wasn’t much use.

·
Registered
5,857 Posts
You're not going to find a much better value guide for HW and JL than e-bay. There are printed price guides but they are outdated as soon as they are printed. Something is only worth what people are willing to pay and for JL and HW, e-bay is the biggest market place and it tells you what people are willing to pay. All of this book value stuff is fine for insurance, but you won't sell stuff for book value.

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Insurance is kind of what I have in mind. I've got some money in this stuff and would need proof of value for content coverage with my home owners insurance.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Like PWschuh said.................however, if your premium rates are based on value, you might want to check ebay a year later on your hot ones. A lot of the prices drop by 1/2 to 2/3 after the fever has worn off. WL's do seem to hold their value better than TH's and brand X 'club cars.'

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #5