Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
4,374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to buy some quality diecast movie cars but do not know WHO to give my business to. I want a place that sells HIGH quality cars and not junk. Someone who actually has the cars they advertise. ALSO, WHAT DIECAST CAR MAKER makes the BEST replica cars that atually look like their full size counterpart ? I am new to buying diecast cars and see that Greenlight has some good looking cars. For those of you who are more experienced in diecast car collectiong, any tips on what to look for & what to STAY AWAY FROM, is appreciated. The car scales i am looking for are 1:18 scale
Model Maker

·
Registered
1,493 Posts
Franklin Mint is the only one that comes to mind other than the bigger matchbox collectors' series. There's a company that makes 1:18 scale replicas (made in China - of course), but I can't remember what their name is at the moment. Maisto is one that makes motorcycles, and cars. You can check them out on evilbay, or go to their website to see what kind of quality they have available now. The stuff they've had in the past has been pretty impressive.

~ Chris​

·
Registered
531 Posts
I used to dabble in diecasts. Most of mine came from Replicarz and Prestige Diecast. Not sure if they're still around but never had any trouble. Seems like Ertl does more movie cars than anyone else but surely there are others.

Kyosho and Autoart are two very good makers although there are some that are more detailed and expensive. They are good mid range makers.

Someone mentioned a while back that diecast prices had taken a jump. Figures, just like everything else that is imported. Dollar shrinkage and increased transportation costs.

·
Registered
923 Posts