Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:D I keep hearing a rumor that Lindberg/Hawk is going to buying out the AMT/ERTL tooling.... Has anybody else heard this???? :confused: I'm an admin at a builder oriented modeling site & this is a main topic of disscussion.... :)
THANKS!!!!

·
Registered
2,773 Posts
That's an interesting rumor.
I wonder if "Hawk" has the capital available to buy the RC-2 package.
I understand that the assets RC-2 wants to sell as a package includes several Die-Cast lines.
Not just AMT - MPC - Polar Lights plastic tooling.
I have heard that RC-2 is not interested in selling the Plastic Kit assets as a separate package.

Dave

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well that was quick!!!! Thing is I've heard rumors that everybody from Dave Burkett(The Model King) to R/M is gonna be buying them out, I've also heard an alarming rumor that they might sell the tooling for SCRAP!!!! :mad: :cry: That would be the worst possible outcome....I'm hoping above hope that the Lindberg/Hawk buyout is true, that would be the best of all possible outcomes.... Hey maybe they buy the diecast tools & sell them to somebody else or maybe lease them.... Guess we'll just to wait & see.... :)

·
Registered
587 Posts
If Hawk bought the whole package, they may be able to sell off the Die-Cast stuff (assuming they don't want it) by itself to a third-party...

·
Registered
2,773 Posts
Maybe Hawk could buy it all and sell off the Die cast---That's a BIG gamble...
The Die Cast market is GLUTTED and the cost of raw materials hs gone way up, the reason RC-2 hasn't found a buyer is that nobody wants the Die Cast stuff.
Revell-o-gram just converted several new items that had been planned as Die-Cast kits to Plastic mainly because Zinc costs have gone thru the roof.