Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,188 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a novice at using an airbrush but have successfully used it several times since I got it. After the last use I disassembled and cleaned it. When I went to use it today, it would not draw--instead it is blowing bubbles into the paint jar. Any ideas out there about what the problem might be?

The airbrush is a Paasche VLS internal mix double action.

·
Registered
1,719 Posts
The airbrush is blocked somewhere still. It could be anywhere from the tip to the paint intake. Most dual action airbrushes are really complex, difficult to clean and maintain. For an airbrush novice, I'd say set it aside and get yourself a really basic single action airbrush to work with for a while, like a Badger. Much easier to clean and maintain and, most importantly, use. If you don't want to go that route, I'd say strip this airbrush down again. Let all but the nylon parts soak in lacquer cleaner for a day or so. Then check the model painting forum here to see if there is any info on cleaning and reassembly and check out the Fine Scale Modeler site for airbrush maintenance. Most of the time, and possibly now, all you need to do is clean the tip. The best way to do that is to carefully remove the tip and head run some dental floss called Super Floss through both. With a single action airbrush you can run Super Floss through the whole paint path w/o taking anything apart. Pipe cleaner is great for keeping the paint jar and tube clean. I really, really, really don't like messing with my dual action airbrushes (Badger, Paasche and especially Iwata) so I only disassemble them once every few years. Otherwise I just keep them really clean by blowing a paint cup's worth of lacquer cleaner through them (and into a paint booth) after every use.