Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm running a small AFX track for me and my eight year-old daughter. I'm trying to decide between running an AFX Tri-Power Pack (#8822) or two regular 22V packs? We're running both the regular Xtraction and the Mega-G cars. Please, no esoteric solutions using dilithium crystals! I'm just trying to figure out which of the two configurations would work better. Anything else is too complicated for me. If you need more info on my track or cars I'll try to provide it, but I'm new to the hobby.

Thanks everyone,

Joe and Tabitha :wave:

·
Registered
1,652 Posts
you could use the two terminal power track,as it it gives indie power to each lane,i believe.the advantage to the tri powerpack is being able to slow down the cars for the kids.

·
Geico ad . . . Offensive?
6,703 Posts
Use the Tri-Power so you can choose the lower voltage setting while you introduce your daughter to the hobby and the basics of car control.

And welcome to Hobby Talk. :)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Okay, I think I'll go with the Tri-Power pack for now. Once she's used to that at full speed, I can get a second one and run one to each lane. All I need to do when running dual packs is clip one of the steel connector strips off of each one so one runs to each lane, right? Or do I need to mess with the power connector strips too?

Hey Bill, what is your cat's name? It looks just like my daughter's cat, Merlin.

Thanks to everyone for the replies. Can any of you explain to me the difference between more amps and more volts? I'm trying to understand how those affect the cars.

·
Premium Member
430 Posts
"All I need to do when running dual packs is clip one of the steel connector strips off of each one so one runs to each lane, right? Or do I need to mess with the power connector strips too?"