Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 618 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to 12 scale racing.

Where I race is in-doors on ozite carpeting.
4 cell stock motors.
I am planning on buying an Associated Rc12L3?

Any thoughts on this car?
Set-ups?
Tires?

Any help welcomed.

C

·
0 Posts
This car is a blast to drive. I run 5 cell stock on asphalt. Refer to the Proline/Jaco chart for tire selection.

K

·
0 Posts
I'm running on ozite carpet also. Very tight track. Running stock setup (greens all around, 1/2 goop on front, full goop on back tires), Nissan P35 body, low ride height insert, the most restrictive pod spacer in the kit. Running an MVP (high RPM!) with light springs.

Good luck

JOe

·
Registered
313 Posts
The L3 is great out of the box. Easy to set up and consistant week to week. The GM3 is the motor of choice where we race. 4499 on the + and reedy 769 on the negative, red & green spring. It's easy to tell who isn't running one.
As for tires most run greens all around but they don't last long. Purple fronts & Gray rears is a good choice if you want tires to last longer but they cost more. They aren't as responsive as greens but they work good.

Good Luck! 1/12th is FUN
!

·
Registered
4,497 Posts
KO's mini servo is unreal, but super fast and expensive ($90.00)!!! I use Air 94145 and love it (as do a lot of pros), but others have trouble with them centering. Mine centers just fine.I gave up my 12L3 for a Speedmerchant and I like it better, though a 12L3 is a good car. Tweak plate or tweak springs, its your choice.

30 plus ounces of torque is sufficient and 0.07 sec. or less to 60 degrees is exceptional. You need at least 30 oz. torque and 0.09 sec. to 60.

[This message has been edited by rayhuang (edited 11-20-2001).]

·
Registered
4,497 Posts
Standard universally accepted 12L3 set up for Ozite is as follows.

Purple fronts (sauce for steering amount).
018 or 020 front springs
1 degree toe out 1.5 degree of camber