Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello All,

What a great forum, very knowledgable members. I am a newbie in this forum. I am interested in making a 4 wheel drive t-jet. I have searched this forum, and found several front wheel drive mods. I have seen a few four wheel drive t-jets on<a href="http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-1751-2978-71/1?AID=5463217&PID=1606754&mpre=http%3A//www.ebay.com"> eBay!</a>. My question is simple, do they run well? Any advantages/disadvantages?

Thank you ,

Tippy

·
Registered
2,559 Posts
I made one back when I was much younger. I mounted it in an Aurora Toronado. I used AJ's Hot Rod wheels all around. My friends beat me in the straights but I could almost go full throttle through the turns. Of course I always wanted a very twisty course.

Marty

·
Model Murdering
7,331 Posts
Looks like I'm headed in the right direction. I'm gonna crank one out just for drill inspite of the obvious performance issue. Do you suppose that two different tire profiles front to rear hinders things? In that they rotate at different speeds, albeit in the same direction. My six by chassis straightened right out when I matched all the tires and stiffened the springs. Looks like your Cheetah has some serious bite on the front of the pickups. If you ever revisit this project try a more upward angle on the forward contact patch. I'm not trying to be a Richard Cranium. I just noticed the extreme forward cut on the shoes, indicative of plowing, drag and not transferring current properly.

Thanks for the quick posts and the inspiration.

·
Premium Member
3,424 Posts
Nah, I just made it and moved on... maybe one of these days I see if I egt it all balanced. I want to start working on a 4 WD based on a Speed Steer chassis

thanks for the advice. I cut and patsed your post if I ever decided to get back to it

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #10