Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2,124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the 4 cell Stock oval racing scene. Used to race 6 cell stock. I've tried my motor setups from 6 cell stock in 4 cell stock and to be honest with you...I'm going nowhere with this class....

What brushes/springs work really well??? What kinda tweaks littl secrets make the power and killer rip in 4 cell........

And.....what rollout would ya all use for tracks 145-173 ft runline???

Kris

·
Registered
4,551 Posts
u tune the motors the same.. the fact is 4 cell is alot slower then 6 cell... get your gearing right .. and setup 4 cell is 90% setup... the better the car works the faster it will be.. u can ionly go so fast on 4 cells. speed wise.. so efficiency is key..

aas fo r rollout.. every track is different.. how wide are the lanes, turns ect all that pays in.. try starting about 2.0 rolout.. go up an d down from there... stock seems to be right around 19t rollout,..

·
Registered
6,711 Posts
The guys are right, 4 cell stock racing I have found is about 90% chassis, 5% motor, and 5% batts.

You could have a 77 watt Monster motor and it means nothing if the car is not setup properly and efficient. And not to be mean but when most guys think their setup is good, most of the time it can be better.

A good rule of thumb I use is:
I set a goal with my car. Say 50 laps is a top 3 run at a given track. Try and achieve those lap times with practice motors and sticks. If you can get the car really good then big mojo and sticks is just icing on the cake and will make you even faster and might even push you to a 51 lap run!!!!

But anyway, getting back to the question at hand.
As with just about any motors these days, whether it be stock, 19T or mod, once the motor is setup correctly (shimmed properly, hoods aligned, magnets are strong, good balanced arm, etc) Its all about the BRUSH....and the batch they came out of.