Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've decided to try some 3d modeling. I have no experience with this, though I have done some 2d cad in the past. Can someone recommend which free package I should try first?

Desirable features to me are (in no particular order):
- free
- cross-platform (Linux and 'dows at least)
- open source
- easy to learn
- easy to use
- powerful
- ability to rotate view in real-time, preferably with proper perspective
- good rendering
- ability to import and export popular formats
- animation support
- popular -- able to get help from a friendly community of users

The most important is probably easy to learn, but I don't want to learn a throw-away package; so I'd like something that's reasonably powerful.

The options I'm immediately aware of are Blender and Art of Illusion. Would one of these be a good choice? Which would be better? Why?

Thanks

Paul

·
Registered
6,589 Posts
From everything I've read for Freeware I would recommend Blender.

I have it and have dabbled with it.

If you end up spending a few bucks though you can get sometimes get a used but legal copy of 3D Studio Max as high as version 8 on Ebay for under $200 bucks.

One thing I like about it as opposed to most other of the popular 3D programs is that it has a dimensioning(measuring system) built in. It helps my feeble mind more easily keep a sense of scale and find errors.

Having said that I must buckle down and actually study it and/or Blender instead of just playing with them. Until very recently I had been working a lot of hours, so I was too braindead when I finally got home to even think of serious study.

Try Blender.com and also Fourmadmen's website, fourmadmen.com has a lot of info on it, the stuff in his gallery was done with Blender.

·
Registered
1,174 Posts