Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
669 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have been running a 13.5 1S class for several weeks at our track. Everyone has been very close in speed until lately. A couple of racers have shown up with the Ballistic motors from Novak. Everyone else is running the older 13.5 motors (mine is about 3 years old). I have been racing for many years and understand that setup is key, but their seems to be a major difference in speed. Is their any difference between the ballistic 13.5 and the older 13.5s? Thanks in advance for any answers.

·
Registered
2,543 Posts
We have been running a 13.5 1S class for several weeks at our track. Everyone has been very close in speed until lately. A couple of racers have shown up with the Ballistic motors from Novak. Everyone else is running the older 13.5 motors (mine is about 3 years old). I have been racing for many years and understand that setup is key, but their seems to be a major difference in speed. Is their any difference between the ballistic 13.5 and the older 13.5s? Thanks in advance for any answers.
You say that your motor is about 3 years old. Have you ever ckecked the rotor? A rotor can make a difference. As for the difference, it could be that the motors are newer with stronger rotors..

·
Registered
669 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have been reading on Novak's website and it looks like the newer motors have sintered rotors. I'm guessing this is probably the difference.

·
Registered
4,277 Posts
You guys check volts on the 1 cells?something important in one cell is to make sure you are charging to the track limit if its 4.22 make sure you are there 4.19 does not cut it.

I just switched from a ss to ballistic it did not make my car a rocket what did help is charging the lipo all the way up to the limit at least 1/2 to 3/4 lap diffrence.

I do how ever like how you can if say you have a Tekin turn the esc timing up and the motor down or esc down motor up or both up ect.