Hobbyist Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
559 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im looking to go 1/10 4wd electric racing but im new to this. which seems to be the hot setup? just throw in your input and help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
1,649 Posts
4wd

i think the best 4wd ever were made by yokomo you can still find there buggys but they will set you back some cash and parts also

·
Registered
304 Posts
4wd are for losers got with a 2wd take more skill to drive. i would say go to your local track and see what every one is running. then go form there. as for elc i most ppl here are running momba's. i run a hobby wing and i keep up just fine and its a lower end brushless system.

i run 2wd not 4wd.

·
Registered
386 Posts
I would suggest that if you plan on racing, go to the track you plan on racing at and see what people are running, and what the shop has as far as parts. You don't want to be stuck on race nights with no parts availability, which would happen with a Yokomo. Most, shops seem to carry Associated and Losi, and a few are stocking Hot Bodies parts for the D4 and Kyosho parts for the Lazer ZX-5. I have owned a Losi XXX-4 G+, and a Team Academy SB-V2 Pro, which is a shaft driven carbon chassis, very similar to the B44 and a great buggy, but harder to find parts for. I am currently running an Associated B44 and I love it. It's built well, tunable, and parts are easy to get. But go with what you like and can afford! As for electronics, the majority of racers are using brushless systems with LiPo batteries. There are too many to discuss here, so go to your local hobby shop and ask some questions and do your own research. Find a setup that you can afford and that suits your personal needs. Remeber, everyone here will give you their personal preferences, but what works well for them may not work well for you, or may be too expensive if you're just getting started. Good luck and have fun! I hope you enjoy this rewarding and fulfilling hobby!

·