Keyence Speed Control - HobbyTalk
  
HobbyTalk Forum for Diecast Collectors, Modelers, Slot Cars, & Radio Control
Home Forums Photo Album RC TrackFinder Catalog Donation/HobbyTalk Supporter

Welcome to the HobbyTalk forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, view attachments, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us. Forgotten your password? Click here!

NOTE: Once you register and are logged in this welcome section will no longer be visible.

Go Back   HobbyTalk > Radio Control Vehicles > RC Oval Racing > RC Oval Racing General Discussion
Register Classifieds Help/TOS Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-03-2004, 02:15 PM
Bob Cole Bob Cole is offline
Elder Statesman

My Photos
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Springfield,Missouri,USA
Posts: 670
Keyence Speed Control

I understand that the Keyence Zero V Extreme has been discontinued and that a new one is in the works. Does anyone know anything about the new one or when it will be available?

Last edited by Bob Cole; 06-03-2004 at 02:43 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2004, 05:28 PM
katf1sh's Avatar
katf1sh katf1sh is offline
Top Dog

My Photos
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: daytona beach,fl,usa
Posts: 8,541
i would call schumacher usa for that info...i also heard that..but i also heard keyence speedos were bought out by lrp?? but again that is just rumor..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2004, 05:38 PM
Steve Downs's Avatar
Steve Downs Steve Downs is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gloucester VA
Posts: 328
Katfish I doubt they were bought out. Considering they are one of Japans largest producers of speedcontrols and other control devices for industrial machinery. The old rumor I heard was they are the ones making the speedo's fro LRP. Who knows.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2004, 10:19 AM
erock1331's Avatar
erock1331 erock1331 is offline
Top Dog

My Photos
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 6,711
I thought LRP was making their own now? It was my understanding that Nosram used to make the LRP's but then was going to go out of business so LRP swallowed them up. And now LRP makes them for Nosram. I know the Quantum 2 is the same unit as the Nosram Power Evolution ESC.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2004, 10:22 AM
erock1331's Avatar
erock1331 erock1331 is offline
Top Dog

My Photos
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 6,711
Maybe Keyence can get rid of the reliability issues this time around.
2 units went bad on me 9 months time. At $195 x 2 + $50 x 2 to fix them = $490....Ouch

I'll stick with my 2 year old Quantum 1 for now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-04-2004, 02:13 PM
jeepnyy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by erock1331
I know the Quantum 2 is the same unit as the Nosram Power Evolution ESC.
The same one as the FUTABA MC800......
rumor has it...Keyence will replace the V Zero Extreme.....check with Adrian...he's the only source worth hearing from.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2004, 03:15 PM
erock1331's Avatar
erock1331 erock1331 is offline
Top Dog

My Photos
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 6,711
I thought the Futaba MC800 was the same as the Quantum 1 not the Q2.
I heard they quit making the MC800.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2004, 03:25 PM
DynoMoHum's Avatar
DynoMoHum DynoMoHum is offline
HobbyTalk Pro

My Photos
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Grass Lake, MI, USA
Posts: 3,416
I've never had any trouble with my Keyence... it's a ZeroV, but not extreem... I know a couple others that have extreems... and as far as I know they've never had problems with them...


But then I also have a Quantum 2 and haven't had problems, yet from what I've heard that series has had quality issues...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-04-2004, 04:27 PM
BrentP's Avatar
BrentP BrentP is offline
HobbyTalk Pro

My Photos
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lebanon, MO
Posts: 2,392
The only trouble I've ever had with my Keyence was when I was in a bad crash & it damaged my reciever which in turn fried my esc. I know this because I thought that my esc was the problem & replaced it with my old Cyclone & geuss what, it got fried too. So after repairing the reciever & both speedo's I was out $150. Kind of sucked but I know that it was not a problem with the Keyence.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-2004, 10:17 PM
chris13's Avatar
chris13 chris13 is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Germantown WI
Posts: 45
I have a bad speedo only 3 months old any info on how to get it repaired. thnx....
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-08-2004, 07:54 AM
pepe's Avatar
pepe pepe is offline
HobbyTalk Pro

My Photos
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,884
I'm running Keyence xtreme's in both my cars for a little over a year now and have had no issue's whatsoever.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-08-2004, 08:08 AM
erock1331's Avatar
erock1331 erock1331 is offline
Top Dog

My Photos
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 6,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris13
I have a bad speedo only 3 months old any info on how to get it repaired. thnx....
Contact Adrian Martinez at Shumacher. 813-889-9593
They are down in Florida.
To get it fixed for free I think the speedo has to be less than 3 months old, but not 100% sure its 3 months. After that it's $50 and they send you a new unit.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-09-2004, 10:33 PM
fastman fastman is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
i just bought a new keyence off my buddy but he did not have the instructions.could anyone help me with setting it i need to race this weekend
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-10-2004, 09:19 AM
erock1331's Avatar
erock1331 erock1331 is offline
Top Dog

My Photos
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 6,711
The drive frequency is important do make sure that is set right

If you are running 4-cell stock a common setting is 1.0-2.0 range
19T - I have heard 3-5.
Mod - you will have to see what works for you based on your motors and batts.

The lower the number, the more punch and com wear, the higher the number the more efficient the motor runs but less punch and less com wear
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-19-2004, 01:00 AM
katf1sh's Avatar
katf1sh katf1sh is offline
Top Dog

My Photos
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: daytona beach,fl,usa
Posts: 8,541
new keyence!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg keyence_rapidapro.jpg (22.6 KB, 116 views)
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Featured Sponsor
SMC Racing

You Can Sponsor
A HobbyTalk Forum


HobbyTalk® Sponsors
Diecast
CScollectibles
Collectables Corner
DieCast Alley
Global Diecast Direct
Milezone
Mini-Motors Inc
Scoomer
The Toy Peddler
Toy Car Aution
Models
MegaHobby
Modeler’s Brand
ParaGrafix Modeling Systems
Radio Control
BeachRC.com
B-Fast RC
Dirt Cheap RC
Discount RC Tires
Irrgang Racing Service
Lefthander RC
MaxAmps.com
RCTV Live
SMC Racing
Speedzone
Thunder Racing
Tekin
Trend Times
TQ Racing
Windtunnel Racing
Slot Cars
AFX Racing
Scoomer
Slot Magazine
Sponsored Events

Become a
HobbyTalk® Supporter

Advertise on HobbyTalk®



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 PM.
HobbyTalk® is a Registered Trademark of HobbyTalk Ltd.
All other logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owner.
Copyright (c) 1997-2012 HobbyTalk Ltd. No use without permission.