HobbyWing Xerun New 120A-1S ESC - Page 5 - HobbyTalk
  
HobbyTalk Forum for Diecast Collectors, Modelers, Slot Cars, & Radio Control
Home Forums Photo Album RC TrackFinder Catalog Donation/HobbyTalk Supporter

Welcome to the HobbyTalk forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, view attachments, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us. Forgotten your password? Click here!

NOTE: Once you register and are logged in this welcome section will no longer be visible.

Go Back   HobbyTalk > Radio Control Vehicles > RC Oval Racing > RC Oval Racing General Discussion
Register Classifieds Help/TOS Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #61  
Old 02-04-2012, 01:12 PM
irvan36mm irvan36mm is offline
HobbyTalk Pro

My Photos
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Orange Park (Jax),FL
Posts: 3,985
Thanks,Brett.
I went to the HW site & tried to download the USB software,but the "Purchase" button wasn't functional. I Googled the software & after another HW website link that ended in a 404 error in Chinese,I found a torrent site that had it. Not quite the way I wanted to download that or anything else,but at least I got it now. Thanks!

Here's the HW site w/ the non-functional "Purchase" button:
http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=218

and here's the HW Chinese 404 site:
http://www.hobbywing.com/upload/soft....63_110119.rar

Last edited by irvan36mm; 02-04-2012 at 01:19 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 02-05-2012, 01:06 AM
racin17's Avatar
racin17 racin17 is offline
Elder Statesman

My Photos
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: in my house!!!!!
Posts: 1,508
I was on the hobbywing web site and looked at the 120a 1s esc, there were two different ones one blue and one black the description was the same. The only difference was 30$. Is there a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 02-05-2012, 08:43 AM
old_dude old_dude is offline
Elder Statesman

My Photos
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 865
You can also find the usb link software at the CRC website.

www.teamcrc.com Look in the tech section at the bottom of the page.

They are the North America stocking distributor.

Also as for the cap board. I would run it even though you don't have to in fact if you run in a class that needs brakes you should purchase the optional four cap board and run it instead of the two cap. They greatly help the brakes and lower the ESC temp in high load applications.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 02-05-2012, 09:34 AM
brettweir78 brettweir78 is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hudson Falls, New York
Posts: 353
on the first link you sent for hobbywing(the one with the nonworking purchase button) go to the bottom of the page. it says .

DOWNLOAD THE USB LINK SOFTWARE
Hobbywing_USB_Link_setup_V1.64_111011.rar (MS Windows Version)

click on that to download the software. you can't purchase it because its free.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 02-05-2012, 11:33 AM
Fireball929's Avatar
Fireball929 Fireball929 is offline
Elder Statesman

My Photos
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mooers, NY
Posts: 1,718
What a good starting point for 17.5 open with these speedos? Do you have to gear them different than the tekin or mamba?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 02-05-2012, 12:52 PM
ta_man ta_man is offline
Top Dog

My Photos
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rockaway, NJ
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by racin17 View Post
I was on the hobbywing web site and looked at the 120a 1s esc, there were two different ones one blue and one black the description was the same. The only difference was 30$. Is there a difference?
I contacted them via online chat and asked that question. I was told there was no difference. The rep said maybe they had more of one than the other and that might be why the price was different, but the prices were the same ($30 different) even when they were out of stock. I do not understand this. I wonder if someday someone will notice and increase the price.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 02-05-2012, 04:42 PM
Fireball929's Avatar
Fireball929 Fireball929 is offline
Elder Statesman

My Photos
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mooers, NY
Posts: 1,718
I know awhile back on rctech there was chat that the black one was the real one and the blue one was a chinese knockoff. They had pics of the differences.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 02-05-2012, 07:17 PM
brettweir78 brettweir78 is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hudson Falls, New York
Posts: 353
I have two of the blue models. They are both genuine hobbywing. Feel free to spend an extra 30 bucks if your favorite color is black. lol. Not sure why one is cheaper, but sometimes its better to not ask why.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 02-06-2012, 12:00 AM
irvan36mm irvan36mm is offline
HobbyTalk Pro

My Photos
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Orange Park (Jax),FL
Posts: 3,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettweir78 View Post
on the first link you sent for hobbywing(the one with the nonworking purchase button) go to the bottom of the page. it says .

DOWNLOAD THE USB LINK SOFTWARE
Hobbywing_USB_Link_setup_V1.64_111011.rar (MS Windows Version)

click on that to download the software. you can't purchase it because its free.
Brett- Oh okay,I see it now! I downloaded this one because the one I got from the torrent site was V1.63. I have the V1.64 now.
Many thanks again!!
-George
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 02-06-2012, 12:04 AM
racin17's Avatar
racin17 racin17 is offline
Elder Statesman

My Photos
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: in my house!!!!!
Posts: 1,508
This has been asked before and i didnt see any answer. If these escs require service where and who do you contact? Is there a tech line like the other manufactuers?
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 02-06-2012, 10:08 PM
ndfrspd's Avatar
ndfrspd ndfrspd is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 19
In 17.5 open I tried 23 boost 22 turbo with a d3. A lot of rip for 10 laps then slow mainly because of car. Its always fast for 10 laps. I tried 50 boost no turbo. No rip. Motor timing 2mm.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 02-16-2012, 08:28 AM
howardcano howardcano is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by racin17 View Post
This has been asked before and i didnt see any answer. If these escs require service where and who do you contact? Is there a tech line like the other manufactuers?
It has been two weeks since I sent emails to two different addresses at CRC asking about warranty and service on these speed controls. I have received no response. So, the answer is, effectively, there is no warranty. There is no service. Buy at your own risk.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 02-16-2012, 11:48 AM
ta_man ta_man is offline
Top Dog

My Photos
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rockaway, NJ
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by howardcano View Post
It has been two weeks since I sent emails to two different addresses at CRC asking about warranty and service on these speed controls. I have received no response. So, the answer is, effectively, there is no warranty. There is no service. Buy at your own risk.
And if you are going to do that, you might as well buy from HobbyPartz.com and not have to pay shipping (free for orders over $50).
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 03-02-2012, 01:30 AM
warrenwrench warrenwrench is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 427
Hi, I recently purchased a XERUN-120A-1S-SD. I have the zero timing firmware installed and the red LED does not blink, therefore I'm not legal to race. It is advertised to have a legal blinky mode. It also will not work as advertised on 1S with lipo cut out enabled. Anyone have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 03-02-2012, 06:49 AM
brettweir78 brettweir78 is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hudson Falls, New York
Posts: 353
You need to be running software 508 it is the blinky software. If you are running 1s you need to turn off the low voltage when you change the software. I have 2 of these one blinky the other running boosted stock. I just ordered 2 more. Any body want to biy some lrp lol.
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Featured Sponsor
SMC Racing

You Can Sponsor
A HobbyTalk Forum


HobbyTalk® Sponsors
Diecast
CScollectibles
Collectables Corner
DieCast Alley
Global Diecast Direct
Milezone
Mini-Motors Inc
Scoomer
The Toy Peddler
Toy Car Aution
Models
MegaHobby
Modeler’s Brand
ParaGrafix Modeling Systems
Radio Control
BeachRC.com
B-Fast RC
Dirt Cheap RC
Discount RC Tires
Irrgang Racing Service
Lefthander RC
MaxAmps.com
RCTV Live
SMC Racing
Speedzone
Thunder Racing
Tekin
Trend Times
TQ Racing
Windtunnel Racing
Slot Cars
AFX Racing
Scoomer
Slot Magazine
Sponsored Events

Become a
HobbyTalk® Supporter

Advertise on HobbyTalk®



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 PM.
HobbyTalk® is a Registered Trademark of HobbyTalk Ltd.
All other logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owner.
Copyright (c) 1997-2012 HobbyTalk Ltd. No use without permission.
Advertising positioning by Digital Point