Poulan Pro only runs at full choke - HobbyTalk
  
HobbyTalk Forum for Diecast Collectors, Modelers, Slot Cars, & Radio Control
Home Forums Photo Album RC TrackFinder Catalog Donation/HobbyTalk Supporter

Welcome to the HobbyTalk forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, view attachments, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us. Forgotten your password? Click here!

NOTE: Once you register and are logged in this welcome section will no longer be visible.

Go Back   HobbyTalk > Small Engine Repair > Small Engine Repair 2-Cycle
Register Classifieds Help/TOS Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-09-2010, 08:55 PM
ihate2cycles ihate2cycles is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Poulan Pro only runs at full choke

Hello everyone. I have a Poulan Pro PPB335 trimmer which has been giving me trouble the past few weeks.

It started off bogging down somewhat under throttle, so I decided to take it to a shop to have it looked at. Well, a couple weeks later, after finding out no one locally will work on it, I decided to do it myself. I mean, I work on cars and stuff, how hard could it be?

Apparently a lot harder than it looks! I tried different gas, no luck. Then I rebuilt the carb, no luck there either! When I changed the gas, it started doing something different. It only runs at full choke! It runs at a midrange rpm, not idle but not wide open either. It will run at full choke for a least 3-4 minutes before dying. If I move it to half choke or open, it dies almost immediately.

It has a Walbro WTA31 carb, cyl compression is 115.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2010, 09:24 PM
30yearTech's Avatar
30yearTech 30yearTech is online now
HobbyTalk Supporter

My Photos
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 5,668
A dirty fuel filter in the tank.

Bad fuel hose.

Air leak into the crankcase.

Faulty high speed check valve in the carburetor.

Just to name a few. check all around the crankcase and make sure all attaching hardware is tight. A small air leak can cause these issues and is somewhat common on these engines.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2010, 09:37 PM
ihate2cycles ihate2cycles is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Whoops, left out a few things. Thanks for reminding me, lol!

Fuel filter is good, as are hoses. I'm leaning towards air leak, since I rebuilt the carb. This thing isn't even a year old yet, still under warranty (well it was until I opened it up!) but I didn't even think to send in the warranty card. Usually everything I buy breaks right after the warranty, bad decision on my part.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2010, 07:07 PM
geogrubb geogrubb is offline
Elder Statesman

My Photos
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihate2cycles View Post
Whoops, left out a few things. Thanks for reminding me, lol!

Fuel filter is good, as are hoses. I'm leaning towards air leak, since I rebuilt the carb. This thing isn't even a year old yet, still under warranty (well it was until I opened it up!) but I didn't even think to send in the warranty card. Usually everything I buy breaks right after the warranty, bad decision on my part.
Try spraying/dribble some carb/brakeparts cleaner, using the straw, behind the carb along the mating surfaces, if the engine tempo changes you have a leak. Have a good one. Geo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:43 PM
ihate2cycles ihate2cycles is offline
Member

My Photos
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Sure enough, the gasket between the carb and motor is leaking. Now I need to try to find a place around here that has it. If not, I'll just get it online.

Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2010, 09:00 PM
geogrubb geogrubb is offline
Elder Statesman

My Photos
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihate2cycles View Post
Sure enough, the gasket between the carb and motor is leaking. Now I need to try to find a place around here that has it. If not, I'll just get it online.

Thanks for the help!
You probably should order 2, I have found some of the aftermarket gasket material to be very thin, just don't block the pulse port if you pair them up. Have a good one. Geo
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Featured Sponsor
You Can Sponsor
A HobbyTalk Forum


HobbyTalk® Sponsors
Diecast
CScollectibles
Collectables Corner
DieCast Alley
Global Diecast Direct
Milezone
Mini-Motors Inc
Scoomer
The Toy Peddler
Toy Car Aution
Models
MegaHobby
Modeler’s Brand
ParaGrafix Modeling Systems
Radio Control
BeachRC.com
B-Fast RC
Dirt Cheap RC
Discount RC Tires
Irrgang Racing Service
Lefthander RC
MaxAmps.com
RCTV Live
SMC Racing
Speedzone
Thunder Racing
Tekin
Trend Times
TQ Racing
Windtunnel Racing
Slot Cars
AFX Racing
Scoomer
Slot Magazine
Sponsored Events

Become a
HobbyTalk® Supporter

Advertise on HobbyTalk®



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 AM.
HobbyTalk® is a Registered Trademark of HobbyTalk Ltd.
All other logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owner.
Copyright (c) 1997-2012 HobbyTalk Ltd. No use without permission.