doctorslotcar
03-23-2005, 11:42 AM
If you do any ebaying at all be on the look out for laptopseller@yahoo.com. This guy sends you an email requesting you update paypal info, gets your account and password, and spends your money.We didnt answer this email and got a hold of paypal, they will never ask you to update your info. That was a close one. Just be careful. Hope this helps someone out there.
bugman
03-23-2005, 02:59 PM
yeah, plus just his name is reason for wondering if its legit. to me anyway.
hankster
03-23-2005, 03:28 PM
This is an old phising scheme that has been going on for at least 6 months. Google that email address and you will find many hits dating back to the middle of last year.
Info from eBay (http://www.dpbolvw.net/click-1606754-2202639)http://www.awltovhc.com/image-1606754-2202639 on how to spot phising or spoof emails can be found at http://pages.ebay.com/education/spooftutorial/index.html
and
http://pages.ebay.com/securitycenter/stop_spoof_websites.html
In the end, the only safe way to go to your account on places like eBay (http://www.dpbolvw.net/click-1606754-2202639)http://www.awltovhc.com/image-1606754-2202639 is to manually type in the URL of the site (or use a bookmark that you saved).
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.